Curtin Sarawak students and staff praised for their accomplishments, contributions and perseverance

Miri – 13 May 2011 – Students and staff of Curtin University, Sarawak Malaysia (Curtin Sarawak) were praised for their outstanding accomplishments, for their contributions to the University, and for their perseverance by former Sarawak Deputy Chief Minister and chair of the Curtin Sarawak Campus Council, Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan Hong Nam, when he officiated at Curtin Sarawak’s fifth Award and Scholarship Ceremony recently.

Dr Chan said that, next to the university’s Graduation Ceremony, the Award and Scholarship Ceremony has been a high point of Curtin Sarawak’s calendar of events each year.

“It is a time to celebrate excellence in academia, excellence in leadership, excellence in service, and excellence in personal character,” he said.

He also congratulated the 55 scholarship and over 100 student and staff award recipients on their achievements, urging them to continue taking great care in preparing themselves to succeed, remaining open and interested in related areas, and not limit their options by planning too rigidly.

“How well one adapts and adjusts to unanticipated setbacks and blessings can be as important as how well one plans one’s future. No one can know for sure what opportunities life will offer. One can be sure, however, that enthusiasm, preparation, self-discipline, and good character will lead to numerous opportunities,” said Dr Chan.

21 undergraduates from Curtin Sarawak made it into the Curtin Vice-Chancellor’s List and received their awards from Curtin’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor, International, Professor David Wood, during the ceremony. The Vice-Chancellor’s List, created in 1991, recognises outstanding academic performance by undergraduates and is aimed at promoting an intellectual culture among students as well as drawing them beyond their own disciplines.

Professor Wood also presented awards to two students graduating from the prestigious Professor David Wood, which embodies the vision of former Australian Prime Minister and wartime hero John Curtin and aims to develop student ambassadors as leaders with entrepreneurial spirit and a sense of community service.

59 others received awards for academic achievement and community service from Shell Malaysia, Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), Bintulu Development Authority, Certified Practising Accountants (CPA) Australia, Crowe Horwath, Ernst & Young, Central Gippsland Institute of TAFE, Halliburton Energy Resources, HSBC Bank Malaysia, Institution of Engineers Malaysia, KPMG, Miri Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Murphy Oil, Petronas, Sarawak Information Systems, Samling Group of Companies, Sarawak Higher Education Foundation, Shin Yang Group of Companies, Zecon Berhad, Tokuyama Malaysia, Wan Ullok Jugah Chin & Co., Wehaya, and Yayasan Sarawak.

Second Minister of Planning and Resource Management Datuk Amar Haji Awang Tengah Ali Hassan, Curtin Sarawak Council member Dato Sri Celestine Ujang, Assistant Minister of Communications and Assistant Minister of Sports and chairman of the Curtin Sarawak management board Datuk Lee Kim Shin, and Dr Chan himself, also contributed awards.

27 staff members of the university also received awards. University Life Manager Haslina Abdul Malek received the Miri City Council Award for Performance and Dedication, while staff members of the Curtin Open Day 2010 Organising Committee won the Datuk Dr. Lee Kim Shin Group Award for Outstanding Community Contribution.

In addition, the ceremony saw 55 students receiving scholarships from the university and corporate bodies. The scholarships included the Curtin Sarawak Malaysia (CSM) Foundation Scholarship, Undergraduate Scholarship and Higher Degree by Research Scholarship; Pro Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarship and Deputy Pro Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarship; Bill Nichols’ Scholarship, Western Australia Premier’s Scholarship, Daiken Scholarship, Gamuda Scholarship, and Shell-Curtin Scholarship.

Also present at the event were Assistant Minister of Communications and Assistant Minister of Sports and chairman of the Curtin Sarawak management board, Datuk Lee Kim Shin; Chancellor of Curtin University, Dr. Jim Gill; chairman of Curtin (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd., Datu Dr Hatta bin Solhi; Pro Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of Curtin Sarawak, Professor Ian Kerr; members of the Curtin Sarawak Campus Council, board of directors and management board, as well as representatives of the corporate sponsors and family members of the recipients.

For further information on Curtin Sarawak, visit its website at

Dr Chan addressing the students and staff.

Dr Chan presenting a student his scholarship while Pro Vice-Chancellor Prof Ian Kerr looks on.

Guests, sponsors, award recipients and their family members at the ceremony.