CUTSE International Conference participants receive awards for outstanding presentations

Miri – 29 November 2008 – 20 participants of Curtin University of Technology, Sarawak Malaysia (CSM)’s CUTSE International Conference 2008 held recently in Miri were given awards for outstanding presentations at the close of the 4-day event.

The conference, which saw the participation of more than 100 academics and researchers from across the globe, was launched by Sarawak Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr. George Chan Hong Nam, who is also chairman of the Curtin Sarawak Council, on 25 November 2008.

Themed ‘Excellence Through Innovation’ and hosted by CSM’s School of Engineering & Science in collaboration with the Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM), Miri Branch, the conference provided a platform for the dissemination of information on the latest innovations, theories and practices in engineering and the sciences, as well as constructive dialog on theoretical concepts, practical ideas and state-of-the-art technology.  Co-sponsors for the event were Shell, Petronas and Murphy Oil.

Winners of the best research paper award for CSM student participants were Fung Shaw Shen (civil engineering), Esmail Raiz Osman (mechanical engineering), Willy Robert (chemical engineering) and Jessie Lau Bing (electrical and electronics engineering).

Awards for best research paper for professionals went to Bridgid Lai Fui Chin of CSM (mechanical engineering), Noraisikin Saman of Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (chemical engineering), Roy Howard of Curtin University of Technology, Australia (computer & communication engineering), Mohamed Fadhali of Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (electrical & electronics engineering) and Ramasamy Nagarajan of CSM (science).

Receiving awards for best oral presentation, meanwhile, were Deepak T.J. of Universiti Putra Malaysia (civil engineering), Hanim Salleh of Universiti Tenaga Nasional (mechanical engineering), Srinivasakammam Chandrasekar of Monash University (chemical engineering), Go Yun Ii of University of Malaya and INTI International University College (computer & communication engineering), Rodney Tan of University College Sedaya International (electrical & electronics engineering), and Thien Thien Kyaw of Thanlyin Technological University, Myanmar (science).

In her address to the conference delegates at the closing, CSM’s deputy pro vice-chancellor Professor Dr Joan Gribble said, “I hope that we all look to the future and find ways that each of us can be creative and innovative through our professions to make the world a better place. For our students, I trust that your first adventure into the academic world has been an exciting one and perhaps opened you eyes to how your studies might lead you to be a leading scientist or engineer in the field.”


Deputy Pro Vice-Chancellor Dr. Joan Gribble presenting award for Best Research Paper for professionals (mechanical engineering) to Bridgid Lai of CSM.


Roy Howard of Curtin University of Technology, Australia (left) receiving his award for Best Research Paper for professionals (computer & communication engineering) from Dr. Joan Gribble.